top of page
  • Writer's pictureJane Schriner

Home Early, Already Missing It

Updated: Apr 21, 2018



It's December 6th, and I won't be back in Columbus until January 7th. I came home quite early for my brothers graduation. He is graduating from Grand Valley State University and I couldn't be more proud of him. I am not far behind him, and with another semester of college over, it's feeling spooky over here.


I love college. I love the growth I have experienced, I love the memories, and I love the the flow that I am in now. Ohio State has become my home. When family members ask me how my first semester went, I tell them that I loved every second, which is true! Although with all the ups I still definitely met my lowest downs. Being in somewhere new was a big challenge. I learned how to be myself unapologetically and what self care really meant in my case. I think that this semester was a rollercoaster that I had been willing to ride for a while but I was waiting in line for it to happen at the right time. I was scared at a lot of points but it was the scared that I knew that I had been waiting for.


And now, that ride of the semester is over. The great thing is, the rush of wanting to do it again is already with me. Seeing my brother graduate this weekend will be wild, he has grown so much. I will be happy to see my self walk across my graduation stage, but until then, I am really happy with how this ride is going.

bottom of page